( PROJECT )

Coal exit

Successful referendum:
Stop the Munich coal-fired power plant!

The HKW Nord coal-fired power plant causes more CO2 emissions every year than all cars and trucks in Munich combined and should remain in operation until 2035. The power plant burns 800,000 tons of hard coal annually, releasing toxic emissions including mercury. In addition, 40 % of the imported coal is shipped from the Czech Republic and 60 % from North America and Russia. 

Protect the Planet has intensively supported the citizens’ petition “Get out of coal” on many levels as to insure an earlier shutdown of the coal-fired power plant. While using the structures of our network a considerable number of additional supporters and fellow combatants could be won.

Even if it took great efforts, the rejoicing after the successful referendum was even greater.
With a list of unexpected successes:

  • More than 50,000 signatures were collected for the citizens’ petition “Get out of the hard coal.
  • On 5 November 2017, the citizens of Munich voted for an earlier shutdown of the coal-fired power plant.
  • A majority of 60.2 percent of the voters were in favour of a premature coal phase-out by 2022.
  • In some city districts, the initiative even reached more than 70 percent.
  • After the city council had briefly decided in July 2019 to allow the power plant to continue to run until 2028 it decided to withdraw after due to a widespread public protest of the citizens’ movement. The ÖDP party and Protect the Planet are pleased that the SPD and the mayor accepted to fulfil their responsibility and to respect the citizens’ decision.
  • The TÜV will now determine the most environmentally friendly exit scenario in a rapid advice by October 2019.

And now it continues in Hamburg: Support the Hamburg popular initiative “Bye bye Coal“:

WWW.TSCHUESS-KOHLE.DE

( PROJEKT )

Kohleausstieg

Erfolgreiches Bürgerbegehren:
Raus aus der Steinkohle!

Das Steinkohlekraftwerk HKW Nord verursacht jährlich mehr CO2-Emissionen als alle Autos und LKWs in München zusammen und sollte bis zum Jahr 2035 im Betrieb bleiben. 800.000 Tonnen Steinkohle verbrennt das Kraftwerk jährlich, wobei giftiges Quecksilber freigesetzt wird. Zudem kommt die importierte Kohle zu 40 % aus Tschechien sowie zu 60 % aus Nordamerika und Russland. 

Protect the Planet hat das Bürgerbegehren „Raus aus der Steinkohle!“ auf vielen Ebenen persönlich und intensiv unterstützt, um die vorgezogene Abschaltung des Steinkohlekraftwerks HKW München Nord zu erwirken. Auch durch der Einsatz unseres Netzwerkes konnten zusätzliche namhafte Unterstützer und Mitstreiter gewonnen werden.

Die Anstrengungen waren groß, der Jubel nach dem grandiosen Wahlergebnis noch größer.
Die gemeinsame Erfolgsliste ist lang – das freut uns und die Umwelt sehr:

  • Mehr als 50.000 Unterschriften konnten für das Bürgerbegehren „Raus aus der Steinkohle!“ gesammelt werden.

  • Die Münchner Bürgerinnen und Bürger haben am 5. November 2017 für eine vorgezogene Abschaltung des Steinkohlekraftwerks HKW Nord gestimmt.

  • Beim Bürgerentscheid „Raus aus der Steinkohle!“  sprach sich eine deutliche Mehrheit von 60,2 Prozent für den vorzeitigen Kohle-Ausstieg bis 2022 aus.

  • In einzelnen Stadtbezirken wie Au-Haidhausen kam die Initiative sogar auf mehr als 70 Prozent.

  • Nachdem der Stadtrat im Juli 2019 kurzzeitig beschlossen hatte, das Kraftwerk – gegen den Bürgerwillen – bis 2028 weiterlaufen zu lassen, hat er sich doch für den Ausstieg entschieden. Die Bürgerbewegung, das ÖDP-Team und Protect the Planet freuen sich, dass SPD und Oberbürgermeister ein Einsehen hatten und der Bürgerentscheid geachtet wird.

  • In einem Schnellgutachten wird bis Oktober 2019 nun das umweltfreundlichste Ausstiegsszenario durch den TÜV ermittelt.

Und jetzt geht es in Hamburg weiter: Unterstützen auch Sie die Hamburger Volksinitiative „Tschüss Kohle“:

WWW.TSCHUESS-KOHLE.DE